A Week at Lock and Co of St James’s

label photo for facebookLast week I turned commuter for the first time in many years, travelling up to London every day for the second week of my internship with Lock and Co.

The design prize I won in March included not only the production and sale of my hat design, but also a four week internship. Lock have been kind enough to let me take this in a “spread out” fashion, so that I am not away from my own business for a whole month.

It’s been lovely working alongside the millinery team right up at the top of the St James’s Street shop. I have picked up many useful “tricks of the trade”, learnt some terrible jokes, eaten far too many biscuits and developed a liking for Radio 2 – who’d have thought?

My final task of the week was to hand finish the hats produced to my design – including sewing in the label: “Lock and Co – by Joanna Zara”. Pleased? Just a bit!!

One thought on “A Week at Lock and Co of St James’s

Leave a Reply

